David Wheatley is Senior Lecturer at the University of Aberdeen. He is the author of four collections of poetry with Gallery Press: Thirst (1997), Misery Hill (2000), Mocker (2006) and A Nest on the Waves (2010), and has edited the work of James Clarence Mangan for Gallery Press and Samuel Beckett’s Selected Poems 1930-1989 for Faber and FaberHis Contemporary British Poetry is published by Palgrave (2015), and other critical work has appeared in The Oxford Handbook of Modern Irish Poetry (2012), The Oxford Handbook of Victorian Poetry (2013), The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary British and Irish Poetry (2013), The Oxford Handbook of British and Irish War Poetry (2007), The Cambridge Companion to Seamus Heaney (2009) and The Cambridge Companion to Contemporary Irish Poetry (2003). His articles and reviews have appeared widely, in journals including London Review of Books, Times Literary Supplement, The Guardian and Dublin Review, and his poetry has featured in various anthologies, including Identity Parade (Bloodaxe, 2010) and The Penguin Book of Irish Poetry (2010), and among his prizes are the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature, the Vincent Buckley Poetry Prize and the Poetry Ireland/Friends Provident National Poetry Competition.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s